Day 44: My birthday

Well, it was my birthday, and it was a co-op day.

For my birthday, Girl drew me a picture of the family.
For my birthday, Girl drew me a picture of the family.

Both kids remembered on their own, and said Happy Birthday! the first thing when they saw me. That in and of itself might have been the best present I could have gotten. The kids were SO happy to see their friends at co-op today. And they learned some things, too.

Boy made these gumdrop/toothpick domes at co-op today.
Boy made these gumdrop/toothpick domes at co-op today.

The temperature dropped while we were there and it started raining, so by the time we left things were pretty miserable. When we got home I turned up the heat, made some snacks, and let them watch TV. (They are currently watching episodes of ‘Ghostwriter’ on YouTube; it’s a PBS mystery show for kids from the 90’s that their dad used to watch.) I started dinner, took a break when Papa got home to open my gifts and cards (the drawings/cards from the kids, a ‘coupon book’ from Papa, and cards from two dear friends).

My birthday card from Boy and Girl, which Boy made. It features karate guys facing off in a room. Why? I don't know.
My birthday card from Boy and Girl, which Boy made. It features karate guys facing off in a room. Why? I don’t know.

After a simple, quick dinner (white rice and spiced ground turkey and onion) we all drove to the airport (only 15 minutes away) so I could pick up a rental car. The roads were madness, and we passed two accidents between us and the airport. One on the other side of the highway was serious, with four firetrucks and a huge backup. We should be driving over the mountains tomorrow for Thanksgiving with my family and friends of theirs, but the storm will probably prohibit travel. So long as the road are cleared, then, we’ll just leave early Thursday and try to make it for dinner. Girl and Boy would really like to see the mountains. Especially with snow.

I would really like them to see a sky full of stars. I can’t imagine a better birthday gift than that.

6 thoughts on “Day 44: My birthday

Leave a Reply

