Day 30: Even moms have to clean their rooms

Today was a co-op day, but I can’t tell you much about that, because I wasn’t there. It’s Veterans Day, and Husband had off work, so he took the kids, and I stayed home to…clean my room. Yep. I worked on it all day, and I’m not done. Here’s what my room looked like last week:

IMG_3224 IMG_3223

It’s looked like this since the ladies’ dinner, when I crammed all the mess in the dining room and living room into my room. That mess consisted of both the natural collection of papers and things that comes with children and life, and also a deeper and older sort of mess, pushed out of the back room when a moving truck arrived with a load of old family furniture (and a great many things in boxes) in September.

(That is a story for another day. Suffice it to say that 10 dining room chairs that need recovering, 4 large boxes, and sundry pieces of antique furniture that need to be cleaned or repaired occupy the space that used to house my kids’ beloved trampoline and a good many plastic bins and boxes of…stuff.)

IMG_3236

Well, I don’t like my room looking like I’m a hoarder, and on top of that, my room is the ‘school’ room. With the kids asking to ‘do school,’ the mess really needed to be addressed immediately. So, some of what I did was just shuffling things around, finding out of the way places for the bins of kids’ artwork, clothes that need to be consigned, papers and things that need to be sorted. But I also did some of that sorting, organizing, and throwing away today, in addition to some dusting and vacuuming. I have a lot more to do, but I did enough that it will feel nice to do our lessons tomorrow.

IMG_3310 IMG_3312

If that’s what the kids want to do. Whatever they want to do, Mumma’s going to be much happier.

Because that’s my project for this year, parallel to our unschooling experiment…but more about that another day.

Leave a Reply

