Day 111: Four things

Last night before we went to bed, after watching an episode and a half of our subtitled Swedish murder mystery, Aunt S and I made a list of four things we needed to do before she left at midday (in order to make the drive home before snow started farther north). Take pictures of Boy’s Lego Swamp Police scene, give Boy his birthday present from Aunt S, give Aunt S her Christmas present from us, reupholster one dining room chair as a trial run.

Aunt S has a very good camera, and even her camera phone takes better pictures than my pitiful old digital, so we’d agreed weeks ago that she would take the picture to send into the Lego contest (and some other pictures as well). He’s been setting up more and more elaborate scenes. Today I had to attach fishline to a jet and hold it suspended over the other action below. I’ll add some more pictures when I get them from S, but here is one:

DSC_0012

After that we exchanged gifts; Aunt S gave Boy a Star Wars Lego set he wanted very badly, and we gave Aunt S a family photo calendar that I’d made via Shutterfly.

And then Aunt S removed the old covering of one dining room chair, only to have us discover that the foam pads we bought are too small, and need to be exchanged for a roll of foam that I can measure and cut. So that endeavor was cut disappointingly short. S removed the covers from a few more of the seat boards, because it’s hard for me to do. (I have an allergy to some kind of mold spore or something that causes me genuine respiratory distress with certain old dusty/moldy things.)

Shortly afterwards Aunt S had to leave, which is always a little sad.

I had to hurry and collect things to go to my neighbor-friend’s house, because tomorrow morning is the first meeting of our new Geography club, and I am her assistant for the 5-8 age group. Tomorrow is Canada, and we needed to plan and go over materials and books for this week and subsequent weeks. Boy and Girl both came and played with her kids. Again they refused to come home with me, so one of the older daughters walked them home after another hour or so.

Meantime I was making a potato, bacon, and cheese pizza for Papa and the kids to eat whilst watching the Super Bowl. But of course the kids could only watch a half hour or so before they had to get ready for bed.

One more note about today: Boy drew some lovely pictures of birds and squirrels in trees this morning. Not formulaic imaginary birds or birds from a book, but drawings of the things he sees himself in our yard and out and about, things he knows. A yellow bellied sapsucker in a pecan tree riddled with holes, an osprey carrying a fish. But he won’t let me post them here, because he’s embarrassed. Because boys shouldn’t draw birds. What?!? How did girls get birds, in the great imaginary gender divide?  Don’t bother talking to him about Audubon, or any of the innumerable 18th and 19th century nature-sketching English gentleman you might know of; Boy isn’t having it. But Boy loves birds. In fact, I’d say birds probably make his top-five of all time list. So how did he come to be embarrassed about that? I’m hoping we can conquer this pretty quickly. I really want to post the damn drawings.

Leave a Reply

