Day 106: Scooby Dooby Doo!

I forgot to write a post last night because I was looking up library books! Oops.

But I do want to say this one thing: Project Comic Book worked! When I woke up yesterday morning, there was a dusting of snow on the ground, and Boy was cozy in his bed, reading his Scooby Doo comic collection. Papa’s work was delayed for the snow, so he didn’t leave until 7:30.  But when he woke up at 6:30 or so he opened the shade on the window next to Boy’s bed so Boy could read and look out at the snow in the back yard. And that’s how I found him. By last night he’d read 2/3 of the book.

During the day yesterday Boy finished his math exercises from the day before, practiced violin, and then (voluntarily) finished a Magic Tree House book about heroes. Girl has expressed formal interest in learning her letters (and therefore reading) so yesterday we did copy worksheets for the letter A.

I’ve been reading to Boy about Inuksuit (Inuit stone piles, built for communication and remembrance) and we’ll start reading about Canada today, in preparation for out first day of Geography Club on Monday. I’m going to start collecting all the things I’ve said I would bring, for a ‘Geography Bag.’

Today: math, violin, letters, reading, the delivery of a new washer/dryer, board game day.

6 thoughts on “Day 106: Scooby Dooby Doo!

    1. Ha, Bee, you hit us on a ‘schooly’ day! I guess my feeling is that I don’t think there’s anything wrong with things like textbooks and workbooks, that sometimes those things provide a very efficient way to learn things, but what I do have a problem with is telling a child that they MUST do those things. I don’t think kids retain much under those conditions. My son really likes his math textbook and workbook, and last year he really liked a grammar workbook I got him, but those are the only two subjects he enjoys learning that way. In this way, we are more ‘child-led’ rather than ‘unschooly.’ My daughter asked for her own books at the beginning of the year, but yesterday was only the second time she’s asked to use them. And we have never this year sat down to do ‘school’ for more than a half hour or forty five minutes. However, they work on other projects and play activities for hours, when they are doing their own thing, so I feel like they learn the MOST from that stuff. Does that make sense?

      Like

      1. Yes, yes, no problem, I was just joking. 🙂 I do not have any hard convictions one way or another, whatever kids ask for, I am game. Well, almost. 🙂 How old are your kids? I am glad I found your blog, I can see a lot of good resources and inspiration here. Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

