Day 101: Boy’s (actual) birthday

So, today was Boy’s birthday, and it was a good one. He got a surprise visit from Grammy and Grampy, and from our Kansas cousins. The four kids (Boy, Girl, and two same-aged boy cousins) almost instantly disappeared into Boy’s room and built this:

IMG_4176 IMG_4178

It’s called “Life City” and features a skyscraper called “Life Tower” where the residents live, and also a medical center, a space center, and a skate park. The four cousins were instant best buddies. Birds of a feather.

Then our visitors gave Boy (and Girl) some gifts. Grammy and Grampy gave both kids books, Girl a fabulous Indian stacking lunch tin (which she packed full of snacks and brought on our walk), and Boy a nautical collapsing spyglass in a wooden box and a 3-D puzzle of a cathedral. Our cousins gave him the most “collosal” and fantastic self-loading Nerf gun of all time. Which he loves. Ridiculously much.

Girl unpacking her new snack tin.
Girl unpacking her new snack tin.

Then we went to the Botanical Gardens for a couple of hours, walked and let the kids play. They all got to climb in a magnificent Southern Magnolia with low-growing branches.

Girl climbing up on a low-growing magnolia limb.
Girl climbing up on a low-growing magnolia limb.

And then it was time to say goodbye. Which was tough. Boy started acting a little weird when we were taking goodbye pictures, but of course it was because he was sad! He ran down the whole street after my cousins’ car, waving goodbye. When he finally returned to the house he said, I learned today that a man cannot outrun a car. He can’t even keep up with a car. 

(And what were Girl’s first words after our honored and beloved guests departed? Phew, finally now I can toot.)

But, we went to Moe’s with Nana and Uncle J (who are staying until Monday), and came home and opened more presents: two Lego sets, a new bathrobe, a new pair of boots.

The last part of Boy’s birthday is a tradition that he and I have had for a few years: we snuggle in his bed and I read him the Dr. Seuss book “Happy Birthday To You!”

And these parts Boy reads out himself after I do, as loudly as he can. As Dr. Seuss puts it, “Shout loud”:

I am I! Me! I am I! And I may not know why But I know that I like it. Three cheers! I am I!

I am lucky! I am I!

I am lucky to be what I am! Thank goodness I’m not just a clam or a ham Or a dusty old jar of sour gooseberry jam! I am what I am! That’s a great thing to be! If I say so myself, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!

Leave a Reply

