Day 54: Building and baking with mom

Last night Boy told me really earnestly that he wanted me to build Legos with him. Something that I haven’t done in…years, actually. He said he wanted to make a museum building that he’d been thinking about, but he wanted me to make the things to go inside the museum.

So this morning, first thing, after a light breakfast of toast for the kids and coffee for me, I sat down on Boy’s floor amidst the Lego drawers and built with him for over an hour.

IMG_3576 IMG_3577 IMG_3569

The museum (white building) has displays inside, and the cafe (brown and tan building) has tables, chairs, and a cash register. After we built for a while, Boy continued working while Girl and I went and made pancakes for second breakfast. And after that we all took the dog outside.

I said that I wanted to build a fairy house, but they were free to join me. And they did. (They said I was being a little bossy, and I reminded them that it was my fairy house, but I really appreciated their help.) Of course, I really am hoping that they learned enough and liked it enough to want to start building their OWN fairy houses, without my bossiness.

IMG_3546 IMG_3533IMG_3537IMG_3545

The fairy house even includes separate men’s and ladies’ room, outside the eating and sleeping area.

Men's bath and toilet (with leaf toilet paper).
Men’s bath and toilet (with leaf toilet paper).
Ladies' bath and toilet.
Ladies’ bath and toilet, with pinecone backrest for comfort of use.

When we were done, we came inside, had lunch, and added gardens to our museum compound.

Front view of museum, cafe, and gardens.
Front view of museum, cafe, and gardens.
Rear view of museum, cafe, and gardens.
Rear view of museum, cafe, and gardens.

And after all that, Boy wanted to make cookies, so we did that, too. Boy read the recipe, but I had to help with some of the mixing because their little arms aren’t strong enough to deal with butter and sugar as wet ingredients. Boy put the pan in the oven by himself for the first time, and transferred the cookies from the hot sheet to the cooling rack. I made dinner; Papa came home.

(I’ve been reading about meltdowns; what they mean, how to handle them. One hypothesis is that they can signal big fears, and that empathy and inviting the child to express and talk about what they are afraid of will help, though in the short term the meltdowns can become worse. So I’m trying out that approach with some surprising results. More about that another day, though, I think.)

At the end of the day I had a wonderful birthday present: my neighbor-friend treated me to a Mom’s night out with co-op ladies (they meet once a month but I can rarely go). It was so much fun, and the food and my drink were so good. It’s always nice to go out with friends, but this was a particularly welcome outing.

One thought on “Day 54: Building and baking with mom

Leave a Reply

