Day 53: Friends, home, togetherness

Mercifully, we did not have any obligations today other than getting the van to the mechanic’s for another check, so the kids could have a good quiet day, and play with some friends in the afternoon. We had no meltdowns, and Boy was happy and relaxed all day. I wasn’t feeling well this morning, but I still managed to go outside and play with the kids for a while. Boy told me specifically that he wants me to spend more time doing things with him, so I’m sure going to try. Tomorrow if the weather’s okay, I think I’m going to tell them that I want to build a fairy house in the back (something I genuinely love doing) and see if they join me. They rarely see me doing anything that isn’t work, even though it is work I enjoy. (Boy has also requested that we make cookies tomorrow.)

My neighbor-friend followed us to the mechanic and drove us home, and a little later after lunch her daughter, who is Girl’s friend, came over to play. And a little while after that, her son (who is twelve) came over with his laptop to play Minecraft with Boy. Boy had never played Minecraft interactively with another person, and I think he really enjoyed it. I’m hoping we can do this again soon, and am looking forward to the time after Christmas when we can have more free days to plan playdates and at-home projects. Because I don’t think anything makes the kids and I happier than friends and home and doing things together.

One thought on “Day 53: Friends, home, togetherness

  1. Together with mama time is so important for my daughter, to help her navigate the world. And even more so when times are exiting or scary or just different. When we had our puppy in the first weeks, the puppy was always happy when he was tied to me, on the leash. As mother we are their anchor. Difficult and beautiful at the same time. But when her cup is full she doesn’t need me as much or as urgently as when she was Boy’s age.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

